Dr. Scott Buchanan

Dr. Scott Buchanan Director

Dr. Scott Buchanan serves as the Director of Choral Activities in the School of Music at Indiana State University in Terre Haute. Originally from New Jersey, Dr. Buchanan holds a Bachelor’s Degree in Music Education from Bradley University, a Master’s Degree in Music Education from the Florida State University, and an Interdisciplinary Ph.D. in Education and Music Education from the Conservatory of Music and Dance at the University of Missouri-Kansas City. Prior to his appointment at ISU, he served on the faculty as Director of Choral Activities at Armstrong Atlantic State University in Savannah, Georgia. Dr. Buchanan began his teaching career at the high school level in Brevard County, Florida, where his groups received acclaim at district, state, and national levels.

Recognized as the "2015 Collegiate Educator of the Year" by the Indiana Music Education Association, Dr. Buchanan is in frequent demand as a choral clinician, conductor, and adjudicator. Choirs under his direction have performed throughout the United States, Europe, and Asia. He made his Carnegie Hall debut in 2001 and has made numerous appearances there, including conducting a solo performance with the Indiana State University Concert Choir in 2004. In May 2010, he served as the artistic Director of National Memorial Day Choir Festival at the Kennedy Center in Washington, D.C. In November 2011m he conducted the High School Festival Chorus at the Asian Pacific Activities Conference in Daejeon, South Korea. In April 2014, he debuted at Alice Tull Hall in Lincoln Center.

At ISU, Dr. Buchanan conducts the select Concert Choir, Sycamore Singers and teaches conducting, choral methods, and literature at both the graduate and undergraduate levels. ISU choral ensembles have been selected to perform for the Central Division Conference of the American Choral Directors Association, and the State Conference of the Indiana Music Education Association on several occasions. Additionally, he has saved on the IMEA Board of Directors and is a past president of the Indiana Choral Directors Association.